Make your own free website on


The Alpha set and the Beta set are identical with the exception that the Beta set has 7 cards that the Alpha set does not.
The 7 additional cards are a third version of each basic land, the Volcanic Island dual land, and the Circle of Protection: Black.

It is sometimes difficult to tell the difference between Alpha cards and Beta cards.
The best way to tell the difference is by looking at the corners.
The two Alpha cards on the above left have large rounded corners.
The two Beta cards on the above right have small rounded corners.

Look at the two card corners below.
The Alpha card has a large rounded corner (this time on the right).
The Beta card has a small rounded corner (this time on the left).

The Alpha Black Lotus and the Beta Black Lotus are the most valuable cards in their respective sets. Magic players refer to the Black Lotus plus 8 other cards as the Power 9. The other eight cards are: Mox Jet, Mox Ruby, Mox Emerald, Time Walk, Ancestral Recall, Mox Sapphire, Timetwister, and Mox Pearl. (Note: Scan is a Beta Power 9 set)

Go Back